Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 16th, 2009

Up and at it ready to hit the road! My only class on Friday’s was canceled so I’m leaving any minute to head home – and then Rascal Flatts concert tonight!!!! 😀 Soooo stoked.

I had breakfast all ready and waiting for me this morning. With just a bit of extra assembling. I wanted to finish off my open container of pumpkin before I left so overnight pumpkin oats!

Start with a soaked base of

  • 1/3 cup multigrain oats + 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin + a scoop of yogurt
  • Cinnamon, pie spice, & maple syrup
  • Fresh figs
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Sunbutter

IMG 5725-1

Soaking the figs was a great idea. So yum.

IMG 5726-1

Add microwaved cinnamon peaches and banana.

IMG 5727

IMG 5728

Top with cereals/granolas (I used Quaker oatmeal squares & Nature’s Path pecan crunch) and pumpkin cream cheese!

IMG 5733

Delicious, sweet, and very filling (too filling for today!)

IMG 5731-1

I couldn’t taste the pumpkin seeds however, so not sure if I’ll add those again.

Okay running late so have a wonderful Friday friends! But first…

Friday’s are full of exciting things.

  • The ability to say “TGIF” (and in the good ol’ days – the actual TV program TGIF – Sabrina & Boy Meets World anyone?!)
  • Weekend
  • Hanging out at night with frends
  • Flashback Fridays!

Today I’m flashing back to my past 3 years of what I did this exact weekend: SF Woman’s Nike Marathon.

2006: (Unfortunately no pictures of this year on my new computer) I walked the half with my mom. At this point in my life, I was running 5-7 miles per day, but never thought to run it. I wanted to try running part, but I already committed to walking with my mom, so that’s what I did. And vowed to run the half next year 🙂

2007: I planned to train for the half. But I had already ran 10-12 milers, and really wanted a challenge. I jokingly said “Hey, I should run the full” thinking “yeah right.” But that’s what I decided to do. Train for a full marathon? No way!

We got to the expo the day before where we picked up our goodies, and shopped a bit around SF! With dinner at the Cheesecake Factory of course 🙂

One major memory of the night before was our adventure to find breakfast! Wanting to eat my tried & true pre-long run breakfast (cinnamon banana couscous), I had made it at home and brought it in my suitcase. Unfortunately, we stored our luggage, and I completely forgot about the perishable breakfast inside! That night, we set out on a mission to find something similar, and ended up purchasing a mini container of oatmeal, a banana, and an individual soymilk container. Then I had to cook it up late that night with the microwave on the top floor so I could eat it early in the morning. Oh the things we go through for our food! 😉

With my cousin at the expo:

CIMG5823

Relaxin’ in the hotel lobby:

CIMG5821

Made a new friend in Macy’s:

CIMG5824

And his Daddy tried to eat me.

CIMG5825

Morning pre-race with the Momma:

CIMG5830

I randomly ran into my Dad & siblings while wandering the streets looking for my start location! They drove out at 5:30 in the morning to come watch me (although I’m pretty sure my dad made them come). Talk about coincidence running into them!

CIMG2326

The bro helped me with my ipod armband.

CIMG2324

CIMG2319

Such great support 🙂

CIMG2348

(My bro looks happy, huh?) They actually had a sign that I saw later in the race that read “Go Taylor! Do it for Zimmer!” Zimmer was our dog that we had to put to sleep for Lymphoma, which is what this race benefited. I cracked up when I saw that sign 😀

Beautiful Golden Gate view around mile 5.

CIMG2335

I have such a strong memory of those last 3 miles that I just all out sprinted. I was so excited and smiling big for the cameras! Around mile 24 was when I saw my brother holding the “Do it for Zimmer!” sign, and he started to run with me, but dropped off after a minute. HA!

Peace out family!

CIMG2369

24981-857-033f

(The lady’s face behind me cracks me up)

24981-857-034f

Almost done!

24981-352-004f

And done 😀 Getting my Tiffany’s necklace.

24981-2296-014f

Actual finishing time: 4:08.31!

CIMG1303

CIMG1304

Modeling our Finisher tees and medals necklaces.

CIMG5838

It was an amazing experience – one that I will never ever forget.

2008: Didn’t feel quite up to training for a full again (haha) so went with the half!

My mom walked again with 2 of her closest friends.

n6411653 36533719 6176

Hanging with the older ladies at dinner (shhh don’t tell them I said that).

n6411653 36533720 6427

Pre-race.

n6411653 36533721 6685-1

Lucky them took pictures with the firemen 😉

n6411653 36533723 7195

Post-race freeeeeezing (if you couldn’t tell).

n6411653 36533724 7452

Finishing time was 1:53.42

2009: Would be this weekend. I always planned to do the half again, but didn’t get an entry this year (they do it by lottery). I would’ve bought one on craigslist (which is what I did last year), but then the whole knee issue came into play. I’m not super bummed about not doing this particular race again (although I miss it – it obviously holds a special place for me), it just feels weird after 3 years not to do it!

If anyone is racing in it this weekend – good luck!!! Let me know how it goes so I can live it through you 😉

Read Full Post »