Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 15th, 2009

I haven’t been as hungry as I was today in….well a while.

Breakfast was the last of my frozen oatmeal pumpkin pancakes.

IMG 5699-1

With Greek yogurt & sunbutter layered between each. And all topped with syup.

IMG 5700-1

Nommmmmm. Guys – sooo good. These are the best pancakes I’ve ever made. And the yogurt in each layer just adds so much.

IMG 5701-1

With a bowl of fruit + yogurt. Honeydew, 1/2 a peach, 1/2 a banana.

IMG 5697

Although I was crazy late for the bus, so after a few bites, stuck this baby in the fridge for later.

Clinical Nutrition lab midterm was ehh. We had 2 patients to evaluate and interpret their blood lab values. Then had to determine the type of anemia and write up SOAP notes (page long subjectie, objective, assessments, and plans). I knew 1 patient well enough, but got stuck on the other diagnosis. We shall see.

I was starving halfway through the test, so I kind of just wanted to be done with it so I could eat. This:

What I thought was a PB&J lara.

IMG 5702

Bite.

“Man, this PB&J has cherry overload.”

Bite.

“Dang, weird how different bars of the same flavor can taste so different.”

Bite.

“Okay, this is one tart baby.”

Oh. Surprise!

IMG 5703

So that’s why there was so much cherry flavor.  You tricky Lara, you.  Being in such similar wrappers.

Didn’t sweat nearly as much at the gym today. Must’ve been that ridiculous stairmaster yesterday. Evil machine.

  • 2 mile run (broken into 5 min. run/2 min walk segments)
  • 20 minute upper body strength
  • 10 minute abs

Off to work (on the way ate my fruit/yogurt from the morning) where I had lunch. Leftover asparagus quinoa.

IMG 5704-1

Obsessed with the flavors in this dish.

IMG 5706-1

Still pretty hangry after this, but I tried waiting for my brain to catch up. I finally had some carrots & multiple cups of coffee, which seemed to do the trick. But not for long. Less than 3 hours later I was beyond shaky with hunger (I swear quinoa never keeps me full!). I went crazy trying to satisfy it.

Apple.

IMG 5707

Handfuls of cereal.

IMG 5708-1

Trail mix.

IMG 4938-1

and 1/2 a banana.

IMG 5709

Yesterday, I realized my free Starbucks ice cream coupon expired today, so I knew I had to use that now or never! No way was I letting that sucker go to waste 😉

I’ve tried the Caramel Macchiato flavor (love) before, so this time I decided to try out Mocha Frappucino.

IMG 5714-1

Check out those swirls!

IMG 5713-1

Tasted remarkably identical to a mocha frappucino (really?  Never would’ve guessed that from the description). But I still like the caramel macchiato better. Probably because I don’t like chocolate ice cream much. And I’m in love with caramel.

I also found (drumrolls please)Pumpkin Pie yogurt!! No not Stoneyfield, but Vons/Safeway has their own brand of it (Lucerine brand). I’m a huge fan of their light gingerbread flavor. Unfortunately the pumpkin pie is low-fat and not light (so 28 g. of sugar!!), but splurged 😉 I’m sure it’s delicious! And $1 raspberries 😀

IMG 5719-1

8:00 pm and a starving Tay both lead to an easy and quick dinner. (Repeat alert!)

English muffin pizzas.

IMG 5715

Half savory: pizza sauce + ricotta + cheese + turkey pepperoni

Half sweet: pumpkin cream cheese + pumpkin & ricotta mixture + cinnamon

IMG 5717

Small dinner, but my snacks from the afternoon finally caught up to me.

Small dinner also = snacking later. Oh who am I kidding, I always have a nightime snack, big dinner or not.

Raspberries drizzled with agave.

IMG 5720

And hot cocoa (x2)

IMG 5723-1

All right, I’m out. Finish packing is a must.

What is everyone’s night time snack of choice?
Mine is definitely ice cream. Or dates with PB/AB. And I have hot chocolate every. Single. Night.  Yummm.

Read Full Post »

Okay – so pumpkin was kind of post-dinner, but whatever. It works in the title, so just go with it.

Lesson learned yesterday: Don’t skip lunch!

I had such a late and filling breakfast, that I never really had a real lunch. I hit up the gym after my 12-2 class, so a good lunch never really fit in well.

Be prepared for a bunch of beautiful phone snapshots.

Snack in class pre-gym.

IMG 0275-1

+ an apple. Still on the mad hunt for the S’mores flavor!!

+ a chocolate chip cookie that a group member made us because she contributed ZERO work to the group project. Cookies make up for it…right? Actually another member mentioned she’d rather have a latte. haha. I agree 😉

Workout:

Caught up on The Hills (since unable to watch the other night due to cable outage!).

  • 30 minutes stairmaster
  • 20 minutes treadmill
    • 5 min run/2 min walk intervals X 2
    • Walking for a bit

I was a sweaty beast after this. My shirt was literally heavy with sweat and not an ounce of me was dry. I don’t know if I’m a heavy sweater, or if no one else in the gym works super hard, but why do I seem to be the only one saturated in there? (Sorry for the gross TMI guys).

Post-gym library snackage:

IMG 0273

and

IMG 0274

(Love these)

But I was starving no matter what. So I ditched that library soon enough, and came home to make an early dinner A-stat.

In the quinoa mix:

  • Sauteed asparagus & onion
  • Craisins
  • BBQ slivered almonds
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Chopped tomato
  • Dressing mixture of
    • Light rice vinegar
    • Olive oil
    • Annie’s Papaya Poppyseed dressing

(x this amount of quinoa by another plate – I was hungry hungry!)

IMG 0277-1

Delicisioso! The sweet flavors melded so well. And I absolutely love pumpkin seeds mixed in my quinoa dishes now.

While the quinoa was cooking, I snacked on Mary’s crackers with TJ’s queso dip. And immediately after this, I had a pumpkin + yogurt bowl.

IMG 5211-1

(Recycled picture, obviously since one of Holly’s cookies is making an apperance)

And the night wasn’t complete without a bit of this action:

IMG 5693-1

That would be vanilla froyo + chocolate sauce + sunbutter. The sunbutter on top was one of my best ideas ever.

I’m off for last minute studying for my Clinical Nutrition lab midterm (eeek!!). Then not sure if I’m driving home tonight or tomorrow morning. Desicions decisions….

So you all know how much I adore pumpkin, right?  (If you didn’t well then a) you’ve been living under a rock the past few weeks or b) you’re new to my blog and welcome! :-D) Well be sure to check out my guest post over at Megan’s blog! She’s a little under the weather (feel better!!) over there.

And thank you to everyone who entered my candy giveaway !

True Random Number Generator
Min: 1
Max: 92
Result:55

Congrats to Emily of Nutritious is Delicious! Shoot me an email with your address girl, so I can get your treats sent out to ya!

Read Full Post »