Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 30th, 2010

BBQ stealer

To continue my “fruit bowl breakfast” trend of the week, I tried hot oats today!

IMG 7481-1

Cooked on the stove:

  • 1/3 cup oats + 1/4 cup wheat bran + 1 cup water
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • Cinnamon + maple syrup
  • Protein powder (stirred in towards end)

Topped with:

  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • Handful of Nature’s Path granola
  • DCD peanut butter
  • Blueberry jam

IMG 7482-1

This was delicious – I liked it better than with overnight oats.

IMG 7483

But so so filling. I never use bananas in my oats, and for some reason thought it would be a good idea today. The addition of banana and the honeydew? Yeah, I barely ate any of the honeydew, and cut up the rest for later.

I then proceeded to do an hour of strength at home consisting of

  • Upper body weights
  • 9 minutes ab work
  • Hip strengtheners

And 40 minutes of foam rolling. I was near to tears. And definitely swore/yelled out a couple times. Damn IT band!

Oh how did my run go yesterday? Thanks for asking 🙂 GREAT!!! I did 4.5 miles in 41:40. And that includes walking times. I was on cloud 9 the rest of the day – just beyond happy. I’d been having a rough couple days, but yesterday’s run just turned my mood 100% around. My knee was a bit stiff, but not bad at all. YAY!!

Since breakfast so late and filling, I had a light snack late afternoon of yogurt, kiwi, & honeydew. Topped with granola (added after the picture) & Crofter’s jam.

IMG 7484

For dinner, we hit up a local BBQ joint (Firestones) that has the best BBQ sauce. I got the “Firestone Salad” – chunks of tomato, bell peppers, onions, feta cheese & pinenuts. I added shredded chicken. And lay on the BBQ sauce!

IMG 0541-1

I honestly normally ask for extra containers of the BBQ sauce and come home with 2-4 of them. Yes – BBQ stealer over here. Today I only got 1 😦 Oh well – gives me an excuse to go back soon!

Now we’re taking an easy night in and watching The Lovely Bones.

It’s been a couple weeks since my last flashback, so I thought I’d do another today. But I wasn’t sure on what to flashback on! After looking through my Picasa albums, I came across my cousin’s wedding back in June of 2006.

She had a very small wedding at th Monterey Plaza Hotel.

CIMG1513

CIMG1529

CIMG1566

CIMG1514

CIMG1571

Siblings. HAHA. So funny – my brother’s hair!

CIMG1579

Little sister entertaing herself and playing 🙂

CIMG1582

CIMG1588

CIMG1595

CIMG1611

I swear, this is a picture of my sister, not the guy’s butt.

CIMG1619

CIMG1622

CIMG16263

Afterwards, before our drive home, we changed and chilled on the beach for a bit.

CIMG1629

CIMG1635

LOL How lucky for a 5 year old to just strip and run in the waves 😉

CIMG1647

CIMG1637

I’ve only been to 2 weddings, and neither was very big! I can’t wait for friends to start getting married 😉 Party!!

Read Full Post »