Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 14th, 2010

First off, thank you very much for all your votes and kind comments on my 2 dress options! Very helpful 🙂

Second….Yay overnight oats I’ve missed you!!

IMG 7223-1

That is one orange bowl :-/

Soaked overnight:

  • 1/3 cup oats + 1/3 cup wheat bran 2/3 cup milk
  • Cinnamon & maple syrup
  • Raisins
  • Pumpkin
  • Almond butter

In the morning:

  • 1/2 container of yogurt stirred in
  • Life cereal on top (I love the crunch)

My stomach felt off all yesterday morning and into the early afternoon. So my eats were a bit random.

Snacked on pita chips

IMG 7227

And carrots

IMG 7228

And “lunch” was in 2 parts. Amy’s all-American veggie burger with the necessary condiments.

IMG 7229-1

And then a small cereal bowl an hour or so later.

IMG 7231-1

  • Low fat cottage cheese
  • Nature’s Path multigran flakes
  • Banana

IMG 7232

Oh I guess my tum-tum was feeling okay enough for these guys 😉

IMG 7230

There was literally a tornado here a couple days ago (okay, as close to a tornado as California’s going to get), and we spent the morning picking up all the twigs, leaves and branches. Check out her legit gardening gloves! 😉

IMG 7226

So cute so cute.

After work I had a job interview. Okay, it was only at Old Navy, but a job is a job folks. And I need one.

Post-interview snackage (x2 – I had already eaten half the apple by this point).

IMG 7233-1

And dinner!! Delicious delicious dinner 😀

IMG 7220

I had this amazingly delicious butternut squash pasta sauce and knew right away I wanted to make lasagna with it. I used 2 mini pans (meatloaf sized).

Butternut Squash Lasagna

  • Whole wheat lasagna noodles
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 jar Dave’s Gourmet butternut squash pasta sauce
  • Mushrooms
  • Onion
  • 16 oz cottage cheese (I like it better than ricotta)
  • Italian blend cheese (I like it better than mozzarella)

1. Chop up mushrooms and onions and sautee in olive oil.
2. Cook ground turkey on the stove.
3. I then layered everything pretty randomly. Pasta sauce, cottage cheese, noodle, ground turkey, mushrooms/onions, cheese, pasta sauce…etc. I kind of winged it 😉
4. The top layer was lasagna noodle, pasta sauce, and then cheese to top it off.
5. Bake at 375 for 45 minutes with tin foil on. Remove tin foil and cook an additional 15-30 minutes (until hot in the middle).

Sorry it’s not very structural. I would recommend no mushrooms or onions. As much as I really wanted veggies in it, the flavor/textures just didn’t go well with the sauce I didn’t think. This sauce makes the dish. My mom bought it for me at Costco (she called me ASAP when she saw it!) and it’s sooooo good. I can’t wait to open up and use the other jar!

The rest of the night was filled with unpictured eats such as popcorn with Reese’s Pieces (not as good together as my sister tried to convince me it was), and strawberries with chocolate sauce (thank you roommate for the inspiration!). So much sweet. Must. Cut. Down. Oh well 😉

Read Full Post »