Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 30th, 2009

Oh such a drama household we have.  Not to go into too much detail, but we just had a “house meeting” which ended up with 2 roommates vs. the other 2 roommates, people mad, defensive and just leaving the room in silence.  Oy vey.

Woke up this morning after a night of burnin’ lack of sleep from my forgotten sunscreen yesterday (whoops!!)

IMG_3828-1

(attempt at puppy dog pout, but it really just looks like my mouth is full of mouthwash or somethin).  I guess it doesn’t look too bad in the picture, but ouchie! I’m aloe-ing it up!
On to EATS:

IMG_3822-1

Kashi blueberrie waffles topped with sliced banana, cookie dough PB, more crumbed PB & syrup.  While delicious, I definitely overdid it at breakfast.  For some reason I have in my head that I must eat in “two’s” – 2 pieces of toast, 2 waffles…I always have two and then often times end up uncomfortably full!  I know this doesn’t seem like too much, but keep in mind a lot of people only have 1 banana or something small before workouts.  While I had 1 banana on top of 2 waffles with PB!  And 3 cups of coffee (aka liquid that fills the belly) don’t help!  I need to work on eating until satisfied, or not eating in two’s at breakfast time!!  haha.

I made another burrito to bring to work:

IMG_3831-1

with a side of plump juicy strawberries

IMG_3834

And I most definitely did not help myself to frozen Costco vanilla cake.  I’m not even a huge cake fan!  But it was good 🙂

After work, I ran to the store to pick up mint for my recipe tonight!  Minty Bulgar Wheat and Peach Salad

IMG_3839-1

Recipe in the link, but it was pretty much just bulgar, jicama, peach & mint tossed with a dressing.  I was looking forward to making this all week, and it was a major letdown.  Bland, and too minty for my taste!  Guess I’m not a huge fan of mint.  Too bad it made 8 servings!!  Ahh well  at least I got to experience purchasing and cutting up a jicama – first time for that one!

While my salad was “chillin'” (like a villain!) in the fridge, I snacked on carrots, jicama & the cucumber yogurt dip:

IMG_3835-1

For anyone curious, I didn’t actually make this dip.  I found it at Costco!

IMG_3785-1

So sorry, no recipe 😦

Dinner:

IMG_3841-1

Bowl of the minty bulgar salad, garlic chicken patty topped with guac, Annie’s Thousand Island (yuck, tossing this thing pronto!) and BBQ sauce for dipping, and a side spinach salad with goat cheese & Annie’s Goddess dressing.  With a glass of wine pomegranate cranberry juice in a classy Target ($1 section!) margarita glass (all our cups were dirrrrty).  Doesn’t look like tons but I am still full!!

But not full enough for some of this puppy:

IMG_3853-1

Vegan Maple Spice Cake from the local natural foods store.  Like I said, I’m not much of a cake person at all..but WOW. The cake part of this, while hardly having any flavor, was incredibly moist and the sweet frosting balanced out the mild cake perfectly.  I had about half this slice, and could’ve easily eaten the whole thing.  I honestly don’t usually even like cake much!  I may or may not have also had a few bites of my Starbucks Caramel Macchiato ice cream along with it 😀

Exercise:

I hit up the gym after breakfast this morning for:

  • 20 minutes stairmaster intervals (level 12-14)
  • 10 minutes treadmill incline 15%, 4 mph
  • 20 minutes upper body strength
  • 15 minute ab work

That treadmill segment was hard and I was panting!  I’m sure to the pleasure of the girl next to me 😉 I didn’t read, but I did watch a rerun of Charmed on TV (guilty pleasure).  What do you all do when working on out machines?  Music, read, TV, zone…? I can read on the stairmaster (which I often do), but there’s no way on the treadmill!

Time to call it a night!  Long work day tomorrow.  Was going to do a “run” in the AM, but I think I’ll put that off until Thursday since my knee twinged today.  Any pain whatsoever = no run for me!

And just a little last reminder of:

IMG_3846-1

Yes it was THAT good.

Sorry I can’t send you some but…

Check out this yum yum cookie giveaway!

And here is one veggieful giveaway!

Read Full Post »