Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 20th, 2009

IMG_3606

What a wonderful way to drink morning coffee, don’t ya’ think? 😀  I also had myself a nice bowl of Kashi Golean & Nature’s Path Heritage multigrain cereal.  Plus a spoonful of Skippy crunchy PB for some lasting fat to fuel me for our hike!  When my dad whipped out his breakfast cereal, I may or may not have gone back for a second smaller bowl of Raisin Bran & some Reese’s Puffs.  I just LOVE certain “kiddie” cereals, don’t you?  I often find myself reaching into the Lucky Charms box, but this Reese’s Puffs was quite tasty!!

We’re now back from a wonderfully beautiful hike to Cleo’s Baths.  You start out hiking partway around the lake…

DSC_0111

Then a side trail takes you off away from the lake towards our final destination.  It’s a pretty “flat” trail for a while  (about an hour or so).

DSC_0143-2

We came across a beautiful butterfly grove.  They were everywhere!

DSC_0125

We also came across a tree with a random growth coming out of it.  My sister called it the tree’s “boo-boo”.  Haha!

DSC_0270-1

Soon you get into  some major rock-climbing action!

DSC_0170

DSC_0178-1

It took us about 2 hours to reach our destination, because my awesomely strong 8-year old sis powered this mountain, but she wanted a few rest breaks.  Then you reach this….

DSC_0217

DSC_0194-1

Welcome to Cleo’s Baths!! We made it!!  😀

DSC_0190-1

Since it’s pretty early in the summer, the falls are still rushing and strong.  No swimming for us today!  I’ve gone before in August, and by that time, there’s less water and we were able to jump off of some of the rocks into pools!  A huge difference.  We relaxed a bit..

DSC_0212-1

DSC_0193-1

And had a few snacks.  I had a Kashi honey almond flax bar, along with half of my sister’s Chewy Cookies & Cream bar (I didn’t realize we’d be gone so long – so I only packed 1 bar & no lunch!  I was hangry hangry!) We also had a pack of Jelly Belly soda shop flavors to inspire us along the trail!

DSC_0238-1

View of the lake (where we hiked from)

DSC_0208

How beautiful, huh?  I’ve Garmined it before, and it came out to about 6 miles.  But who knows exactly, since you’re climbing up for so much of it!

By the time we got back to the lake, soft serve ice cream and a nice cold soda sure sounded heavenly.

DSC_0278-1

(I had already finished my delicious vanilla cone by the time we took this pic).

I’m most definitely icing my knee now – it bothered me slightly with all the downhill pounding on it.  And I sure am ready for some good dinner grub!  Looks to be sauteed tomato, onion, basil & garlic sauce over WW pasta.  I think I’ll also throw in some leftover chicken from last night.  And after discovering some vanilla ice cream in the freezer, my sis and I planned on root beer floats for dessert.  Mmmm we sure worked up an appetite today!

Also…want some hotness delivered to YOUR doorstep?  Check this giveaway out!!

Read Full Post »