Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 23rd, 2009

Gym Denial!

So I swiped my school ID at the gym this morning…and nothing happens.  No green light, no swinging gate, no entry!  Apparently, because I’m not enrolled in summer classes, I’m not allowed into the Rec Center.  I need to pay an extra $37 for a gym membership this summer!  Sweeeeelllllll.  I started to walk away, but realized I really need to join it.  Without gym workouts, what would I honestly be able to do?  I wouldn’t even be able to swim!

Workout: 3 miles treadmill (4o minutes).  I alternated run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes.  My walking was 4 mph on a 15% incline, and honestly this was tougher (and hurt my knee more) than the running!  I probably ran about 12-15 minutes total throughout the whole thing.  This was literally the first I have ran at all in 4 1/2 weeks.  And yes…my knee is slightly sore tonight.  It has been bothering me more since the cortisone shot last week – I swear it almost made it worse!

Running late to work, so I iced my knee on the drive:

IMG_3690

I love this handy ice wrap thing I snagged from home.  Now I can actually be mobile while icing!:

Slightly hungry after my workout, I munched on these while driving:

IMG_3691

And had lunch a little after I got to work at 1:00

IMG_3696-1

WW wrap with turkey, lettuce, tomato, wholly guacamole & goat cheese. That’s an apricot on the side.  It was super tasty, but the goat cheese overpowered, and I couldn’t taste any guac!  Next time I’ll pick one or the other.

I also may or may not have snuck in a few bites of Costco vanilla cake they had in the fridge.  I’m not a huge fan of Costco cake – only when it’s refridgerated and cold.  Are you a cake person?  Costco cake fan?

Read Full Post »

Phew!  My roommates and I spent all yesterday afternoon (night for me – since I worked!) cleaning the house!  Dusting every blind in the place (man did those take forever), scrubbing the walls, baseboards, floors, kitchen, bathrooms, laundry room…yowza!  Why, may you ask?  Our landlord is coming today for a walkthrough for our new roommates who are going to move in, and she wanted us to have the house scrubbed down beforehand.  Even though we’ll be living here another year!  Crazy lady!

At least now our house is all sparkly clean 😀

IMG_3687

IMG_3688

Unlike my room….

IMG_3685

Yes…I’ll eventually unpack, I promise!

No alarm set for me this morning.  I could have gotten up early to get a long workout in, but I was exhausted last night!  So while I was really craving oats for breakfast, I settled on quick cereal so I could get out the door for a quick workout:

IMG_3683-1

Mix of:

  • Kashi Golean
  • Quaker Brown Sugar oatmeal squares
  • Raisins, chunks of PB, & sprinkled with PB2
  • Soymilk

I was actually a little too full afterwards, but I think it may be because I ate it so fast and downed my coffee at the same time!

Out the door to get a good sweat sesh in – I was considering a walk/hike, but I haven’t sweat (ew gross!) in a while.  Just a little dilemna on where I’ll park to get to the gym…(I have no on campus parking permit!!).

I hope everyone has a Terrific Tuesday!!

Read Full Post »